SPECIAL GUESTS

Oscar Ruíz Navia

Director, producer and writer Oscar Ruíz Navia founded his independent Colombian film production company, Contravía Films, in 2006. His first feature La Barra (El Vuelco del Cangrejo) won the Fipresci Award at the Berlinale Forum in 2010 and was also selected and awarded at numerous festivals. In 2012, he produced La Sirga, directed by William Vega, which was selected at the Directors’ Fortnight. In 2013, at Danish artist Olafur Eliasson’s request, he directed a short film entitled Solecito which was also selected at the Directors’ Fortnight. Los Hongos, his second feature, won the Special Jury “Filmmakers of the Present” Prize at the Locarno Film Festival in 2014 and the HBF Audience Award at the Rotterdam Film Festival. His latest film Epifanía, which he co-directed with Swedish director Anna Eborn, premiered at the 2016 Busan Film Festival in South Korea and will make its debut in Poitiers during the festival.

Franco Lolli

Franco Lolli is a director, screenwriter and producer who graduated from La Fémis. He has directed several short films including Como Todo el Mundo, recipient of the Grand Prize at the 2007 Poitiers Film Festival, and Rodri, which was selected at the Directors’ Fortnight in 2012. His first feature film Gente de bien made its debut at the International Critics’ Week in 2014, went on to be selected in more than 70 international festivals and received awards in San Sebastián, Lima, Ghent and Havana, among others. With his company Evidencia Films, Franco Lolli also produces other Colombian authors. He is currently working on his latest film entitled Litigante

Catalina Mesa

With a background in communications and literature, Catalina Mesa studied photography, video and editing at Les Gobelins, learned about directing at La Fémis and continued her film studies in California. In 2008, she founded Miravus, a production company based in Paris where she produced audiovisual and photographic projects. Her first feature film entitled Jericó, the Infinite Flight of Days came into being in Colombia. With this feature film, which is intended to be as ethnographic as it is poetic, her objective was to preserve and celebrate the feminine spirit of the Antioquia region of Colombia. This project tells the story of Colombia’s ethereal heritage through the portrait of twelve women in the village of Jericó. In 2016, this film met with great success thanks to Cine Colombia distribution and is currently continuing its journey at festivals throughout the world.

Juan Sebastian Mesa

Juan Sebastian Mesa was born in Medellín, Colombia in 1989. Photographer and Cofounder of Monociclo cine, he holds a degree in audiovisual communications with studies in scriptwriting and contemporary narrative. He has directed several music and experimental videos. His short film Kalashnikov (2013) was nominated for best national short film by the Colombian Academy Awards and was selected to be part of numerous film festivals. His first feature film The Nobodies won the audience award at the Settimana Internazionale della Critica Venice (2016) and was the inaugural movie of the Cartagena de Indias International film festival (FICCI 56). His most recent short film Tierra Mojada was part of the Orizzonti Competition Venice 2017. The Poitiers Film Festival presents in preview Los Nadie. He’s currently working on his second feature film The Rust.

César Augusto Acevedo

Director and screenwriter César Augusto Acevedo graduated from the Universidad del Valle with the screenplay for La tierra y la sombra as his graduate thesis, which became his first feature film and premiered at the 2015 Cannes Festival Critics’ Week where it won the Caméra d’Or. After its premiere, the film was presented in more than 40 film festivals worldwide and won more than 25 national and international awards. Acevedo directed the short films Los pasos del agua (Cannes 2016) and La Campana. His works include credits as co-writer and assistant director for Oscar Ruíz Navia’s feature film Los Hongos, and production assistant on his first feature La Barra. He was the cameraman on the “behind the scenes” film from La Sirga by William Vega, and was the still photographer on the film Siembra by Angela María Osorio and Santiago Lozano.

GRANDS INVITÉS COLOMBIENS

Oscar Ruíz Navia

Réalisateur, producteur et auteur colombien, Oscar Ruíz Navia fonde en 2006 Contravía Films, une société colombienne de production de cinéma indépendant. Son premier long métrage La Barra (El Vuelco del Cangrejo) remporte le Prix Fipresci au Forum de la Berlinale en 2010 avant d’être sélectionné et primé dans de nombreux festivals. En 2012, il produit La Sirga réalisé par William Vega, sélectionné à la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs. En 2013, à l’invitation de l’artiste danois Olafur Eliasson, il réalise le court métrage Solecito, également sélectionné à la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs. Los Hongosson second long métrage, obtient le Prix spécial du jury Cinéastes du présent au festival de Locarno en 2014 et le Prix du public HBF au festival du film de Rotterdam.
Epifania, en co-direction avec la réalisatrice suédoise Anna Eborn, est son dernier film présenté en avant-première au Festival international du film de Busan (Corée du Sud, 2016) et en inédit à Poitiers.

Franco Lolli

Franco Lolli est un réalisateur, scénariste et producteur, diplômé de La Fémis. Il a notamment réalisé les courts métrages très remarqués Como Todo el Mundo, Grand prix du Poitiers Film Festival en 2007 et Rodri, sélectionné à la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs en 2012Son premier long métrage Gente de bien a été dévoilé à la Semaine de la Critique du Festival de Cannes en 2014, puis sélectionné dans plus de 70 festivals internationaux et primé entre autres à San Sebastián, Lima, Gand et La Havane. Avec sa société Evidencia Films, Franco Lolli produit d’autres auteurs colombiens. Actuellement, il prépare son prochain film en tant que réalisateur, Litigante.

Catalina Mesa

Après des études de communication et de lettres, Catalina Mesa étudie la photographie et la vidéo, le montage aux Gobelins, s’initie à la réalisation à La Fémis et poursuit ses études de cinéma en Californie. Elle fonde à Paris en 2008 Miravus, une société de production avec laquelle elle réalise des projets audiovisuels et photographiques. C’est en Colombie, en 2016, qu’elle produit son premier long métrage, Jericó, l’envol infini des jours. Sa démarche est autant ethnographique que poétique ; elle entend préserver et célébrer l’esprit féminin d’Antioquia, comme une expression du patrimoine immatériel de la Colombie à travers la rencontre de douze femmes du village de Jericó. En 2016, son film connaît un grand succès grâce à la distribution du film par Cine Colombia et poursuit actuellement sa route des festivals à travers le monde.

Juan Sebastian Mesa

Juan Sebastian Mesa est né à Medellín, en Colombie, en 1989. Photographe et cofondateur de Monociclo Cine, il détient un diplôme en communication audiovisuelle, écriture de scénario et narrativité contemporaine. Après plusieurs clips et films expérimentaux à son actif, son court métrage Kalashnikov (2013) est nommé parmi les meilleurs films aux Oscars Colombiens et est sélectionné pour de nombreux festivals. Son long métrage The Nobodies remporte le prix du public à la Semaine Internationale de la Critique de Venise (2016) et fait l’ouverture du Festival International du film de Carthagène (FICCI 56). Son tout dernier court métrage Tierra Mojada est sélectionné dans la section « Horizons » de la Mostra de Venise en 2017. Le Poitiers Film Festival présente en avant-première Los Nadie. Il travaille actuellement sur son deuxième long métrage, The Rust.

César Augusto Acevedo

Le réalisateur et scénariste César Augusto Acevedo sort diplômé de la Universidad del Valle grâce à son scénario La Terre et l’ombre (La tierra y la sombra). Le film est présenté en avant-première au festival de Cannes en 2015, où il remporte la Caméra d’Or. Le film est ensuite présenté dans plus de 40 festivals et obtient plus de 25 récompenses. Acevedo a réalisé les courts métrages Los pasos del agua (Cannes 2016) et La Campana. Il a travaillé sur diverses productions, notamment sur deux films d’Oscar Ruíz Navia, en tant que coscénariste et assistant réalisateur sur Los Hongos et comme assistant de production sur son premier long métrage, La Barra. Il a également travaillé comme caméraman sur le making of du film La Sirga de William Vega, et a été le photographe de plateau sur le film Siembra de Angela María Osorio et Santiago Lozano.