41th EDITION

30 nov > 7 dec 2018

Come discover the cinema of today and tomorrow at the Poitiers Film Festival! Over a period of eight days of effervescence, young talents from around the world, professionals, and the general public will come together around school films and the festival’s International Selection. Previews, screenings of shorts and features, debates, film lessons, cinema-sandwiches, Piou-piou screenings for children: this complete program has something for everyone.

The author, director, and filmmaker Christophe Honoré, will be the special guest of the 41stPoitiers Film Festival and lead the Film Lesson on transmission, which is at the heart of his film Plaire, aimer et courir vite (Official Selection of the 71stCannes Festival).

For this year’s edition, the Focus will be on the creative Romanian cinema with the The National University of Theatre and Film in Bucharest. Heir to a tragic dictatorship, the “New Wave” that came into being in the late 1960s (Cristian Mungiu, Cristi Puiu, Radu Muntean, Corneliu Porumboiu, etc.) was characterized by singular and salutary social satire. But what about the next generation?

In 40 years, the Poitiers Film Festival has welcomed thousands of student filmmakers, some of whom have since become big names on the international cinema stage. France 3

Complete program available in November.

41e EDITION

30 nov > 7 déc 2018

 

Le cinéma de demain et d’ailleurs se découvre ici. Durant huit jours d’effervescence, la jeune création internationale, la profession et le public se rencontrent autour du film d’école et de sa Sélection internationale. Avant-premières, projections de courts et longs métrages, débats, leçon de cinéma, ciné-sandwiches, séances Piou-piou pour les enfants composent un programme complet pour tous les âges et tous les goûts.

L’auteur, metteur en scène et réalisateur Christophe Honoré, à l’honneur du 41ePoitiers Film Festival, animera la Leçon de cinéma sur la question de la transmission, au centre de son film Plaire, aimer et courir vite – Sélection officielle du 71Festival de Cannes.

Lors de cette édition, focus sur l’inventif cinéma roumain avec l’Université Nationale des Arts du Théâtre et du Cinéma de Bucarest. Héritière d’une dictature tragique, celle que l’on nomme la « nouvelle vague » née à la fin des années 1960 (Cristian Mungiu, Cristi Puiu, Radu Muntean, Corneliu Porumboiu…) signe une satire sociale, singulière et salutaire. Qu’en est-il de la génération qui lui succède ?

En 40 ans, Le Poitiers Film Festival a vu défiler des dizaines de cinéastes encore étudiants. Depuis, certains comptent parmi les plus grands du cinéma mondial. France 3

Programme complet disponible en novembre.