WHOSE FILM IS THIS?

The challenges of student films property and its distribution implications

Tuesday, Dec 5th I 10 am – 5 pm

Film schools today use numerous models and various strategies for producing their students’ films. Each of these approaches has its consequences, especially with respect to rights and distributing these works.
To whom does a school film belong? Certain institutions have contracts with their students and/or with private production companies – what are the possible models? Do schools differentiate between films created during a student’s studies and the student’s final project? How do schools deal with the increasing usage of the internet to distribute their students’ films?
All of these questions will be discussed during the Round Table with school representatives and student directors who will be at the Poitiers Film Festival for the International Selection.

This Round Table will be moderated by Bert Beyens from the Royal Institute for Theatre, Cinema and Sound (RITCS) in Brussels who also currently serves as Chair on the Executive Council of GEECT (European Grouping of Film and Television Schools), regional association of the CILECT.

Book your place: elodie.ferrer(a)tap-poitiers.com

A QUI APPARTIENT CE FILM ?

L’enjeu du droit de propriété du film d’école et ses conséquences sur la diffusion

mar 5 déc 2017 I 10h-17h

Les écoles de cinéma développent aujourd’hui de nombreux modèles et de multiples stratégies pour produire les films de leurs étudiants. Chaque pratique a ses conséquences notamment en terme de droits d’auteurs et de diffusion des œuvres.
À qui appartient le film d’école ? Si certaines structures ont des contrats avec les étudiants et / ou des sociétés de production privées, quels en sont les modèles ? Les écoles différencient-elles les films réalisés pendant la formation et le film de fin d’études ? Comment les écoles font-elles face à l’utilisation grandissante d’internet pour la diffusion des films de leurs étudiants ?
Telles sont les problématiques abordées au cours de la table ronde qui réunit des représentants d’écoles et des étudiants réalisateurs présents au Poitiers Film Festival dans le cadre de la Sélection internationale.

Table ronde modérée par Bert Beyens du Royal Institute for Theatre, Cinema and Sound (RITCS) à Bruxelles – Belgique et actuellement président du GEECT (Groupement Européen des Écoles de Cinema et de Télévision), association régionale du CILECT.
Inscrivez-vous : elodie.ferrer@tap-poitiers.com