Presentation

Organized by the TAP – Theatre and Auditorium in Poitiers, Poitiers Film Festival gathers international young film creation, film professionals and the general audience around its unique characteristics – school films.
Every year, Poitiers Film Festival presents an international selection of films from the best cinema schools throughout the world. It is an opportunity for us to take the pulse of a generation, in this privileged time when future filmmakers create outside market constraints.

Taking the pulse of young cinema, revealing new directors; here is what still drives this 2015 edition in finding the best films from around the world. With its international competition, Poitiers Film Festival is the nerve center in which the future of cinema is written, as narrations confront each other and young directors free themselves from the rules, trying their luck for the best.

Poitiers Film Festival enables audiences to be witnesses for this budding and to meet with filmmakers of the competition, who show both the freshness and liveliness of youth and the skills of experienced filmmakers. About fifty school films from all backgrounds will be selected among the 1300 received films.

Discover future talents
For the audience, it is a promise to find out about emerging cinema, to discover the first films of directors who give an account of the world they live in, its main issues and its history.  It is also the pleasure to share emotions, questions and critics with these artists during our debate-meetings.

Share experiences
Regarding professionals, the festival is a place for cinema schools and their representatives to meet, interact and share experiences about teaching issues. It has to become a landmark for producers who closely follow the birth of new talents.

Support emerging talents
Beyond offering young directors the opportunity to have their first confrontation with an audience, Poitiers Film Festival wishes to support them professionally. That’s why from 2016 it will take yet a step further by developing a special program called Jump In.

In that way, Poitiers Film Festival follows suit with the Rencontres Henri Langlois and their founder in the long run: making of school films a crucial gateway to the discovery of future talents.

History

1977 : The Festival, initially dedicated to graduation films, was created in Tours by Henri Langlois, founder of the French Cinémathèque, who died a few weeks before the opening of the first edition. In his honor, the Festival was named after him.
1990: The Rencontres Internationales Henri Langlois moved to Poitiers.
2000: The Graduation Films festival became the International Film Schools Festival.
2004: The management of the Festival was entrusted to the Scène nationale de Poitiers which accommodates a “Research and discovery” art house theater.
2007: The Rencontres Henri Langlois celebrated its 30th anniversary.
2008: With the opening of the Theatre & Auditorium of Poitiers, the Festival takes on new dimensions.
2014: The Rencontres Henri Langlois become the Poitiers Film Festival.

Présentation

Organisé par le TAP – Théâtre Auditorium de Poitiers, le Poitiers Film Festival rassemble autour de sa spécificité – le film d’écoles – la jeune création cinématographique internationale, les professionnels de la filière et le grand public.
Chaque année, le Poitiers Film Festival présente une sélection internationale de films issus des meilleures écoles de cinéma du monde entier. Il prend ainsi le pouls d’une génération, à ce moment privilégié où les cinéastes de demain créent hors des contraintes du marché.

Prendre le pouls du jeune cinéma, s’imprégner d’un nouvel élan, d’un nouveau souffle, révéler de nouveaux réalisateurs : voici ce qui nous pousse à dénicher les meilleurs films, chaque année, aux quatre coins du monde.

Le Poitiers Film Festival se situe précisément là où se construit l’avenir du cinéma, où se confrontent les écritures, où les jeunes réalisateurs peuvent s’affranchir des règles et tout tenter. Devenez les spectateurs témoins de cette éclosion et rencontrez ces cinéastes de la compétition qui allient la vitalité de la jeunesse à la maîtrise de cinéastes confirmés !

La découverte
Pour le public, c’est la promesse de découvrir des cinématographies émergentes, c’est la confrontation avec les premiers films de jeunes auteurs qui s’emparent du monde qui les entoure, de son actualité, de son histoire. C’est aussi le plaisir de partager des émotions, des interrogations et des critiques avec ces artistes lors de rencontres-débats.

Le partage d’expériences
Pour les professionnels, les écoles de cinéma et leurs représentants, le festival est un espace de rencontres, d’échanges et de partage d’expériences dans les domaines de la pédagogie. Il doit devenir un repère pour les producteurs attentifs au développement de nouveaux talents.

L’accompagnement des jeunes talents
Pour les jeunes réalisateurs, le Poitiers Film Festival souhaite, au-delà de la première confrontation de leurs œuvres avec un public, favoriser leur accompagnement professionnel. Pour cela, il franchit une nouvelle étape en développant à partir de 2016 un programme spécifique : Jump In.

Le Poitiers Film Festival s’inscrit ainsi durablement dans la continuité des Rencontres Henri Langlois et de leur fondateur en faisant du film d’écoles une entrée décisive pour la découverte des talents de demain.

 

Historique

1977 : le festival, initialement consacré aux films de fin d’études, voit le jour à Tours. Il est créé par Henri Langlois, fondateur de la Cinémathèque française. Celui-ci décède quelques semaines avant le début de la première édition. En son hommage, le festival porte son nom.
1990 : le festival émigre à Poitiers.
2000 : le festival du film de fin d’études devient le Festival international des écoles de cinéma.
2004 : la gestion du festival est confiée à la Scène nationale de Poitiers qui abrite un Cinéma d’Art et d’essai, classé Recherche et découverte.
2014 : les Rencontres Henri Langlois deviennent le Poitiers Film Festival.